YOU Be The Change

 

You-Be-The-Change.jpg

One step forward, two steps back. I think that is a good definition of how I feel right now.

On Wednesday, I was making fast progress on my goals related to strengthening my Mobile/Web Development skills.  Since then, my outputs have been less than noteworthy.  Please don’t get me wrong, I’ve been working on things and strengthening my abilities; however, there are no visual outputs for me to share.  Instead I have “lists”.

Instead I have “lists”

I have long lists of information to revisit, videos to watch and tutorials to attempt.  My confidence that I will revisit half of the links I added to yesterday’s list is lower than 75% because I have to many lists of things I want to attempt.  :0)  Nonetheless, I have “re-opened” yesterday’s list and registered for a key site I found yesterday, but that is not a lot of “accomplishment” for today.

Sadly, my mind has been consumed by everything that has happened since the U.S. Elections.  I’ve spent way to much time on Facebook, and read Twitter until 4 o’clock in the morning.

I am happy to report all of my attention to the U.S. Elections has been beneficial.  Today I feel like I better understand my world because of one small post I found by Tim O’Reilly the founder of O’Reilly Media.   Mr O’Reilly’s post directed me to another post which was long and contained links out to other articles.  I read them all, and came away with greater insight.

After reading the post I wondered how I could become part of the solution that America is so desperately seeking.  I have a number of ideas and I want to put them into action.  I have actually started making small strides in this direction by creating this site, and working to improve my own abilities and thinking.  Yet, I want to go further.

I started this site on Wednesday following a Facebook chat with a friend.  A few years ago my friend created a Facebook group to enable people to motivate participants into action  needed to improve their economic situation.  On Wednesday, my friend indicated they “on occasion” considered shutting down the group because people were not moved to action.  I asked that my friend keep the group open because I would take action.  The resurrection of this blog is my first act.

The resurrection of this blog is my first act.

Yet, I am still gyrating on who to help and how to help.  For many years I’ve dreamed of becoming philanthropist.  In my dreams, I envision helping “graduates” of the Child Welfare System help themselves.  With deep pockets and extra time on my hand, this vision is colored with full scholarships, academic support systems, a finishing school and reciprocal groups where youth can mentor and support each other.

If I found myself with bottomless pockets stuffed with cash I see an army of bright pink motor coaches traveling to low performing elementary schools around the country.  A ticket aboard this  bubblegum colored masterpiece would be a coveted by kids far and wide.  When I think of this dream, I always see myself as that child holding the “Golden Ticket” in the movie Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.

your-stem-golden-ticket

Armed with a shimmery pink ticket, girls would be welcomed aboard the STEM Girls Express to create amazing things using science, technology, electronics and math.  I doubt that one day at a school would be enough time because the goal would be to expose them to all four great areas.

After days spent making nail polish, building LED powered pins, and coding something really cool, they would leave armed with a new sense of their abilities and bigger dreams for the future.

These are the dreams that have inspired me through the years to invest my personal time trying to “create the next great thing” because the long term impact would have a ripple effect on the entire community.

These have been my dreams, and remain my most coveted dreams today.  Nonetheless, I have come to realize that I can no longer wait for my “bottomless pocket” and I need to bring the dream of helping people redefine their abilities today.

I’m sad to say that I don’t have a fully formed plan.  I’m not sure how to start, who to target, or how many people I can assist.  Currently I’m working extremely hard on my own goals, but I will not use that as a crutch.  Instead, I will revamp my vision to bring hope and relief to my brothers and sisters in America.  LOL, it may only be 1 or 2, but luckily that is all that is required of me.

Where there is a will, there is a way…and humanity makes progress forward based on the small contributions of each of us.

I stand on the shoulders of Giants!

babysteps

LoL. Go ahead, call me an optimist, a dreamer or whatever name you choose.  I have already made progress because today I know that I need less than I envisioned to reach the outcomes I desire.  Sure, my outcomes may not be as grand as I originally envisioned, but nobody can predict the power of one human empowering another.

Sincerely,

George

 

 

